Film Review: Ghostbusters (2016)

I like to think I’m an honest person. I never lie, I never cheat and I rarely steal. Which is why I’m telling you that on seeing the first trailer for the 1984 Ghostbusters remake I knew there was no need to waste my time or money on seeing Hollywood’s latest attempt to re-envision a classic. However when I was forced to see another trailer whilst watching Warcraft in the cinema, my brain did a 180 and I decided to join the masses.

It’s been an age since I have watched the original so I’m not here to judge or write an essay entitled; Compare and Contrast the 1984 Ghostbusters film with the updated 2016 version and highlight how the perceptions of the supernatural have changed over the decades and it’s effects on gender and race.

Let’s get the obvious out of the way; Ghosts are real. Translucent, past through walls, haunt your ass if you pissed them off when they were alive real. Though normally presiding in another plane or just generally remaining unseen to us mere mortals, something has shifted and the ghosts are no longer staying below the radar. So, who we gonna call?

Ghost Wink

Dr. Erin Gilbert (Kristen Wiig) and Dr Abigail Yates (Melissa McCarty) apparently. After long ago writing and publishing a book entitled Ghosts from Our Past: Both Literally and Figuratively: The Study of the Paranormal in order to prove the existence of ghosts…. and being made fun of for their ridiculous theories…. these old friends are reunited when destiny calls.

The trouble with living in the 21st Century is that it is so easy to fake things. Computers, CGI, 3D printing, they all make it so easy for someone to garner fame and success whilst pulling the wool over the entire worlds eyes. Therefore it’s no wonder the footage our team captures and uploads is deemed nothing more than a hoax. Deemed as fakes, snubbed as professionals and trying to unpick the patterns of a madman, these jumpsuit wearing girl group have a tough road ahead of them.

I may not have quite wet myself but I was a hyperventilating mess in the cinema over how funny  I found this film. Tears glistened in my eyes and there was an embarrassing moment when I nearly fell off my chair. Suffice to say I received a number of passively aggressive polite glares from those around me.

Kevin (Chris Hemsworth) in Columbia Pictures' GHOSTBUSTERS.

Chris Hemsworth stole the show in the comedy department if you ask me. His ditzy secretary act was executed with such a blasé air that if you blinked you missed it – In fact he was so smooth I was almost convinced he wasn’t faking it at all. Of course the other characters managed to hold their own too, their humor deriving from their unique personalities; Kate McKinnon’s Dr Jillian Holtzmann providing a slightly weirder tone of amusement and Leslie Jones’ Patty Tolan as the flabbergasted newbie who couldn’t quite believe the life she was now living.

Kind of like transforming over the summer from that weedy unstyled spotty year seven to the ultimate pretty little liar (only to find that people still call you Dalmatian) – it’s impossible to break the shackles of your former self so quickly. Even after thirty-two years, the original Ghostbusters film lives on in the hearts of many. It was great that instead of attempting to wipe the slate clean this remake embraced its former self. There were continuous nods to the original spread throughout the movie which added that nice little nostalgic touch.

Ghost Posessed

Overall the plot itself was pretty weak once you actually looked past the ghosts and the glory. The antagonist was nothing more than your slightly deranged average loner and there was at least one majorly annoying plot pit that I will save you the rant about. At the end of the day I’m glad that being one of the most disliked trailers on YouTube didn’t brainwash to many of the masses into not seeing this film, then again curiosity can be a great marketing tool.

 

Leave a Reply

